Center staff member recognized for work in clean energy


Each year, Midwest Energy News acknowledges leaders who are based in the Midwest. These men and women are innovators from all sectors, including industry, government, regulatory, business, academia, nonprofit, and advocacy.

The 40 Under 40 awards program showcases emerging leaders throughout the region, and highlights their work in America’s transition to a clean energy economy.

This year, the Center for Rural Affairs was represented by one of its own. Policy Associate Lu Nelsen was named one of the recipients of the 2019 Midwest Energy News 40 Under 40 Award.

Through his work with the Center, Lu helps bring awareness of the benefits of renewable energy development in the Great Plains and Midwest to people in rural America. This work is done in an effort to assist those in rural communities in being part of a clean energy transition.

Lu’s colleagues at the Center took notice of his hard work and dedication to renewable energy, and nominated him for the award.

“Throughout my time at the Center, Lu has been a strong and consistent mentor to myself and others on the team,” said Cody Smith, policy associate. “Because of Lu's commitment to clean and renewable energy, I have learned so much about rural America's place in a clean energy economy."

“When it comes to nonprofits working on energy, Lu is definitely one of the experts, and is a great addition to the group,” said Trenton Buhr, policy assistant. “Lu's research and energy advocacy speaks for itself—he's definitely a leader in this field."

Humbled by the recognition, Lu feels grateful to be acknowledged, and hopes this publicity will help bring forward momentum to his work.

“It's an honor to be part of a group that features advocates from around the region doing great work,” he said. “The list demonstrates the breadth of work being done across the Midwest to support a clean energy transition and support communities in addressing climate change.”

For more information about the Midwest Energy News 40 Under 40 program and this year’s recipients, click here.