Local food champions to receive Center for Rural Affairs award

Release Date: 



Wyatt Fraas, Farm and Community Program assistant director, wyattf@cfra.org, 402.254.6893; or Rhea Landholm, brand marketing and communications manager, rheal@cfra.org, 402.687.2100 ext 1025

LYONS, NEBRASKA – The Center for Rural Affairs has chosen Tim Rinne and Ronald Todd-Meyer, of Lincoln, Nebraska, to receive the 2018 Bob Steffen Pioneer Award. They will be recognized at an award ceremony on March 8 in York, Nebraska.

The Bob Steffen Pioneer Award is bestowed by the Center for Rural Affairs each year to a person or persons who work with the Center to make extraordinary contributions in building community engagement within their own communities. People who receive this award provide a model for innovation, stewardship, or community development.

Both of the 2018 awardees are long-time leaders of Nebraskans for Peace. Rinne is the state coordinator, and Todd-Meyer is the current president of the state board of directors. Rinne is one of the founders of the Lincoln-Lancaster County Food Policy Council.

“Tim and Ron have been integral to the development of a statewide food council and with bringing the Center for Rural Affairs into that process,” said Wyatt Fraas, Farm and Community Program assistant director with the Center for Rural Affairs.

Rinne and Todd-Meyer have been ambassadors for the newly-formed Nebraska Food Council, attending events and trainings across the state to widen the council’s reach. They also recruit members to the council.

“Their commitment to stronger local food systems and developing community-based food councils has contributed greatly to our work,” Fraas said. “They are champions for getting local food to all Nebraskans.”

Get The Newsletter?