Nebraska farmers urge Senate to fund conservation in the farm bill

Release Date: 



Cora Fox, policy program associate,, 402.687.2100 ext. 1012; or Rhea Landholm, brand marketing and communications manager,, 402.687.2100 ext 1025

LYONS, NEBRASKA – Thirty-five Nebraska farmers, in support of conservation and beginning farmer programs in the 2018 farm bill, recently signed and sent a letter to Deb Fischer, Nebraska’s senior U.S. senator.

“The farm bill is a critical piece of legislation that provides farmers and ranchers with the tools they need to preserve Nebraska’s agricultural future,” the farmers wrote. “We ask that you do everything you can to support and protect conservation and beginning farmer policy in the farm bill. This will help build a bright and better future for farmers, ranchers, and rural communities in our state.”

The farmers ask Fischer to protect working lands conservation programs, such as the Conservation Stewardship Program and the Environmental Quality Incentive Program.

“Conservation practices build soil health, preserve clean water, and fortify pastureland,” they wrote. “These practices also provide an important opportunity for farmers and ranchers to improve the resiliency of their land and reduce their risk during future droughts and other pressures.”

In addition, they request Fischer to preserve programs that assist beginning farmers in accessing land, credit, risk management strategies, and education.

“The future of Nebraska agriculture lies both in the land and in the people,” the letter states. “The farmers and ranchers who are starting out today are the established producers of tomorrow.”

By county, the signers are: Adams: Paul Swanson; Antelope: George Rethmeier; Boone: James Vanderloop Jr.; Burt: Russell Bryant; Butler: Al Moravec and Diane Schroeder; Cedar: Marnie Schieffer; Custer: David and Cornelia Hansen; Dixon: Anthony Rohan; Dodge: Chris Armstrong, Wayne Panning, and Ben Schole; Douglas: Russell Bryant; Gage: Gayland Regier; Holt: Carroll D. Marcellus and Kim Mosel; Howard: Mena Sprague; Kearney: Kevin Raun; Keith: Dennis Demmel; Knox and Madison: Wyman McCain; Lancaster: Brian Brhel, Todd Eggerling, Steve Hollman, and Steve McConnell; Madison: Gary Wolken; Nance: Jim Knopik; Saunders: Merlin Fick, Josh Hladik, and David and Jordan Rasmussen; Seward: Del Ficke and Matthew Hendl; Sherman: Kevin Fulton; and York: Kerry Hoffschneider.

To view the letter, visit For more information or to get involved, contact Cora Fox at or 402.687.2100 ext. 1012.