Center for Rural Affairs joins organizations in call for White House focus on rural issues

Release Date: 



Brian Depew, executive director, 402.687.2100 x1015
Rhea Landholm, brand marketing and communications manager, 402.687.2100 x1025

Lyons, Neb. – More than 40 organizations, including the Center for Rural Affairs, joined together today to send a letter urging President Trump to focus on rural issues at the highest levels of his White House team.

The letter specifically asks the president to designate a senior member of the White House staff as a rural advisor and/or create an Office of Rural Policy with a direct focus on rural issues.

“By appointing a senior member of his team to act as a point person on rural policy, the President can help ensure rural voters have someone thinking about them,” said Brian Depew, executive director of the Center for Rural Affairs. “In the next four years, the White House will tackle a wide range of issues and legislation that will affect rural people and rural places.”

“We are eager to continue our engagement in Washington, and look forward to having a rural liaison that we can work with directly.”

The list of signers includes:

Farm Credit Bank
AgriBank, FCB
American Association of Community Colleges
American Association of Crop Insurers
American Sugar Alliance
America’s SBDC
Center for Rural Affairs
Crop Insurance Professionals Association
Fair Food Network
Farm Credit Bank of Texas
Farm Credit Council
Farmer Mac
Housing Assistance Council
National Association of Counties
National Association of Development Organizations (NADO)
National Association of Resource Conservation and Development Councils (RC&D)
National Association of Towns and Townships
National Association of Wheat Growers
National Cattlemen’s Beef Association
National Cotton Council
National Council of Farmer Cooperatives (NCFC)
National Farmers Union
National Latino Farmers & Ranchers Trade Association
National Milk Producers Federation
National Peach Council
National Pork Producers Council
National Rural Economic Developers (NRED)
National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA)
National Rural Utilities Cooperative Finance Corporation (NRUCFC)
National Sorghum Producers
National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition
Rural Broadband Association (NTCA)
Rural Community Assistance Corporation (RCAC)
Rural Community Assistance Corporation
Select Milk Producers
Southern Peanut Farmers Federation
Southwest Council of Agribusiness
USA Rice
Western Peanut Growers Association

# # #

Get the Newsletter