Friends of the Constitution

Find the latest news on the effort to re-establish a corporate farming ban in Nebraska on the What's New page.

Welcome to the Friends of the Constitution website. Here you will find out who we are, what we do, and how you can become a member. You will find information about Nebraska’s first-in-the-nation constitutional amendment prohibiting non-family farm corporations from owning farmland or livestock. We’ll tell you why Initiative 300 was adopted, what it’s done for Nebraska, and what needs to be done now to keep the law intact.

Who We Are: Friends of the Constitution is a nineteen member coalition of farm, church, and environmental groups concerned about corporate farming. The groups have joined together to defend and enforce Initiative 300, the state’s constitutional amendment banning non-family farm corporations.

Chair: Jon Bailey, Center for Rural Affairs
Vice-Chair: John Hansen, Nebraska Farmers Union
Secretary: Laura Krebsback, Nebraska Sierra Club
Treasurer: Norma Hall, Women In Farm Economics
At-Large: David Hansen, Custer County Sustainable Agriculture Society and Gene Harbsesen, Save Our Rural Resources

Organizational Members

American Corn Growers Association
CARE (Citizens for Air, Resources, and Environment)
Center for Rural Affairs
Custer County Sustainable Agriculture Society
League of Rural Voters
Mid-Nebraska PRIDE
Nebraska Appleseed Center for Law in the Public Interest
Nebraska Catholic Conference
Nebraska Chapter—Sierra Club
Nebraska Grange
Nebraska Lutheran Advocacy
Nebraska Farmers Organization
Nebraska Farmers Union
Nebraskans for Peace
Nebraska Sustainable Agriculture Society
Nebraska Wildlife Federation
Nebraska—Worth Fighting For
Northeast Nebraska Ag Support Group
Organization for Competitive Markets
Saunders County Livestock
SORR (Save Our Rural Resources)
WIFE (Women Involved in Farm Economics)

Get The Newsletter?