Nebraska Micro Enterprise Action

You have an opportunity to make a difference on a bill to strengthen rural Nebraska through support for small business and beginning farmers.

LB 177 would improve the Nebraska Micro Enterprise Investment Tax Credit. (Details below). It provides a 20 percent investment tax credit up to $10,000 for owner-operated businesses with five or fewer employees.

But one critical element was eliminated in committee.

The total tax credits for all microenterprises in the state would continue to be limited to $2 million per year, on a first come first serve basis. Once $2 million in tax credits are claimed, all subsequent applications are denied. Meanwhile, tax credits for big businesses are uncapped at a cost 50 – 60 times that amount.

Please call or write your State Senator today (contact information is below). Urge him/her to support LB 177 to improve microenterprise tax credits. Most important, urge him/her to amend LB 177 to remove the $2 million cap on total credits.

If Nebraska can afford over $100 million annually for big business, surely we can afford more than 1/50 of that amount for the smallest businesses that have been the backbone of the rural economy.

Details: Under current law, the microenterprise tax credit applies only to new investment in plant, equipment and employees. Under LB 177, the credit would also apply to health insurance, legal services, advertising and professional fees. In agriculture, the credit would be targeted to beginning farmers and ranchers. It would also be available for diversification into nontraditional enterprises such as agritourism and specialty crops.

We are targeting the following districts. If you are not in one of these districts, and would like to participate in this action, you can find your Senator's contact information on the state legislature website.

District

Senator

Phone

Fax

Email

2

Dave Pankonin

402-471-2613

402-479-0902

dpankonin@leg.ne.gov

3

Gail Kopplin

402-471-2627

402-479-0903

gkopplin@leg.ne.gov

16

Kent Rogert

402-471-2728

402-479-0916

krogert@leg.ne.gov

18

Mick Mines

402-471-2618

402-479-0918

mmines@leg.ne.gov

19

Mike Flood

402-471-2929

402-479-0919

mflood@leg.ne.gov

20

Brad Ashford

402-471-2622

402-479-0920

bashford@leg.ne.gov

21

Carol Hudkins

402-471-2673

402-479-0921

chudkins@leg.ne.gov

22

Arnie Stuthman

402-471-2715

402-479-0922

astuthman@leg.ne.gov

23

Chris Langemeier

402-471-2719

402-479-0923

clangemeier@leg.ne.gov

24

Greg Adams

402-471-2756

402-479-0924

gadams@leg.ne.gov

30

Norm Wallman

402-471-2620

402-479-0930

nwallman@leg.ne.gov

32

Russ Karpisek

402-471-2711

402-479-0932

rkarpisek@leg.ne.gov

33

Carroll Burling

402-471-2712

402-479-0933

cburling@leg.ne.gov

35

Ray Aguilar

402-471-2617

402-479-0935

raguilar@leg.ne.gov

37

Joel Johnson

402-471-2726

402-479-0937

jjohnson@leg.ne.gov

38

Tom Carlson

402-471-2732

402-479-0938

tcarlson@leg.ne.gov

39

Dwite Pedersen

402-471-2885

402-479-0939

dpedersen@leg.ne.gov

40

M.L. Dierks

402-471-2801

402-479-0940

mdierks@leg.ne.gov

41

Vickie McDonald

402-471-2631

402-479-0941

vmcdonald@leg.ne.gov

42

Tom Hansen

402-471-2729

402-479-0942

thansen@leg.ne.gov

43

Debra Fischer

402-471-2628

402-479-0943

dfischer@leg.ne.gov

44

Mark Christensen

402-471-2805

402-479-0944

mchristensen@leg.ne.gov

47

Philip Erdman

402-471-2616

402-479-0947

perdman@leg.ne.gov

49

LeRoy Louden

402-471-2725

402-479-0949

llouden@leg.ne.gov

 



Get the Newsletter